For Immediate Release                                                                          January 9, 2018

Balstad & Chisholm Elected to the Minnesota Association of Wheat Growers Board


Two Minnesota wheat producers, Shawnn Balstad of Fertile and Jacob Chisholm of Gary, are the newly elected board of directors to the Minnesota Association of Wheat Growers (MAWG). Both will serve three-year terms in their position as District II board members. These two new board members will replace Jay Nord, Wolverton, and Connie Gunderson, Bejou, who each served nine years on the Minnesota Association of Wheat Growers board.

Balstad says that producers need to tell their story and work collaboratively to promote agriculture, research varieties with trade and consumer driven characteristics to improve markets.

Balstad raises wheat, soybean and corn. They also have some alfalfa.

Chisholm sees multiple challenges facing not only wheat, but other commodities produced in our state. Specifically relating to wheat, he sees a number of concerns facing MN wheat producer: profitability; involvement in a row crop production operation, wheat should be included to reduce the application of similar herbicides; and the oversupply of wheat on the world market.

Chisholm’s farm produces hard red spring wheat, soybeans, dark red kidney beans, and sugarbeets.

Dave Torgerson says, “We are fortunate to have such involved growers who are so dedicated to making an improvement to the future of the wheat industry.”


Balstad and Chisholm are accompanied by Tim Osowski, Argyle; Kevin Anderson, East Grand Forks; Matt Krueger, East Grand Forks, Steve Lacey, Wendell; and Gary Anderson, Grygla, who are all serving on the board to accomplish the goals of the MAWG.

The Minnesota Association of Wheat Growers is an organization that generates funds through membership dues and non-profit education and communications programs. Their goal is to be an advocate for Minnesota wheat growers in St. Paul and Washington D.C. and to provide valuable education programs that help improve profits of Minnesota wheat producers.

# # #

Dave Torgerson, executive director, Minnesota Association of Wheat Growers, 218-253-4311.